FRIENDS

“That picture hangin’ on the wall
Was painted by a friend
He gave it to me all down and out
When he owed me ten
Now it doesn’t look like much I guess
But it’s all that’s left of him
And it sure is nice from right over here
When the light’s a little dim”

—-Guy Clark, “Step Inside This House”

One response to “FRIENDS

  1. That book of poems was given me
    By a girl I used to know.
    I guess I’ve read it front to back
    Fifty times or so.
    It’s all about the good life and stayin’
    Easy with the world.
    It’s funny how I love that book
    But I never loved that girl.

    Like

Leave a Reply

