Ivory Towers vs. Grass Roots

“I told him I was a poet
I was lookin’ for the truth
I do not care for horses
Whiskey women or the loot

I said I was a writer
My soul was all on fire
He looked at me
And he said you are a liar

“Son, it’s faster horses
Younger women
Older whiskey
More money”‘

Tom T. Hall,   “Faster Horses

One response to “Ivory Towers vs. Grass Roots

  1. The last stanza nails it! In fact, except for faster horses, what you’ve got there is the great triad of woes for all Blues songs: money, whiskey, and women.

    Like

Leave a Reply

